The Aro Korol Company




Special Thanks

Inspired by the closure of Madame Jo Jo's, 'Battle of Soho' addresses gentrification within Soho, surrounding London areas, and other major global cities.


Madame Jo Jo's was world renowned as the home of cabaret, hosting the scene's most notorious acts whilst additionally nurturing the budding performers of tomorrow in its unique, offbeat and extravagant fashion. Despite half a century of enthralling entertainment encompassing Paul Raymond's legacy, Madame Jo Jo's licence was revoked and subsequently closed in November 2014 following a violent incident in what was seen as a draconian move by Westminster Council.


Amidst London's major plans for redevelopment exist the impending threats of closure on a multitude of London's iconic entertainment and social spaces. The resounding impact on performance art and culture is at the heart of 'Battle of Soho''s message.


Not least of the affected is Curzon, Soho. Built in 1912, Soho's acclaimed art house venue offers theatre screenings, premiers, director Q&A's as well as mainstream screenings, though Crossrail development details list Curzon, Soho as a "surface area of interest" for Crossrail's new ticket hall.


Following campaigns, corporate interest, business owners and performers, 'Battle of Soho' documents the poignant current and historic events that are contributing to this - what is named by many - cultural catastrophe.


'Battle of Soho' provides a voice to both the developers and those affected by assessing the extent of the impact this will have on the future of London's entertainment and sub-cultures. The power of collectivism reigns true throughout, demonstrating that although it may be too late to save New York, it is not too late to save London.



David Ellis

Izabela Etmańska

John Evans

Maria Evrenos

Deborah Feyerick

Charlotte Fine

Kerri Franics

Emiro Heco

Karen Hill




Toby Osmond

Michel Peacock

Amy Pinkie Pie Sanders

Alex Proud

Jeff Salmon

Julian Sanz

Marck Schroder

Thomas Warburton

Simon Ward


Bruno BLx

Norine Brown

Brenday Burke

Liavali Coquet

Adam Davidson

Daniel Davis

Hannah Dingle

Nandie Pinto Duschinski




Sheila McDonald

Sir. Ian McKellen

Joice McLean


Colin Martin Morris

Bong Nqueyen

Aoife O’Sullivan




Andrew Hughes

Ian Hurdo

Jason Jobling

Jenna Larinoja

Marcin Lipski

J Lucy

Alana Madden

Ruari McAleese


© 2017 The Aro Korol Company Ltd. All Rights Reserved.